Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 23rd, 2011

The World Sings To Me

Last night my friends and I went out to Julian’s mountain house in El Morro. It was a looking for answers type of night for me, and I believe I found some.

The sky was filled with stars; the moon was almost full, buried in layers of fast moving clouds that seemed to cradle it; the ocean breeze made palm trees dance and the world around us sing. We explored the mountain, following a path to the top where we found a sanctuary. We past through a wooden gate marked “Parque Jurasico” and up one final hill to reach the peak of the mountain. There we found an outdoor church setting, stone seats rapping in a circle around a statue of the Virgin Mary that was elevated off the ground on a rock which had steps built into it. It had just turned 12, Good Friday was here, and I was standing at the absolute highest point the eyes could see, between a city and the beach, listening to the world around me. My uncle told me when I was very young that you can hear God in the wind, which is one of the reasons I have such a fascination with trees. The wind found its own way to speak this night though.

Lying on the ground staring up at the stars will always remind me of being in Pipestem North Carolina with my family. It’s one of the most distinct and pleasant memories of my childhood, something I will always carry with me. Stars make everything seem so small. These lights that seem to be right next to each other are actually farther away than we could even imagine. Julian stopped playing and put his guitar back around his shoulder, began to turn around and stopped when he heard the sound. The wind, which was very strong where we were sitting, hit the guitar strings and vibrated them, creating sounds that shifted in pitch and volume. It sounded like a choir singing. He held the guitar up to his head and turned into the wind once more, and the sound became even stronger. We sat there and listened to the wind play for a while.

I came out to the morro to let go, and just like Julian’s guitar, when I did so I was amazed at what I found. You can’t always control situations, and even if you could, sometimes it’s better to just let nature run its course.  We live in a very small and beautiful world. It’s never the last time you’ll see someone, or the last chance you’ll get, so relax. I’ll sing for you as long as the world keeps singing for me.

Read Full Post »